Step back, Flip it and Reverse it

As I write today’s blog, Charles Barkley and his new Taco Bell commercial just flashed on the screen.  Very funny no doubt.  Who doesn’t love Chuck?  However, it made me hop in my wayyyyy back machine for this classic.

Once again fellas, thanks again for your comments.  To chime in on the bass ackwards comments, you are absolutely right about NCAA making money off of guys like OJ Mayo, Michael Beasley even Kevin Durant.  Those guys were gold mines for what many would consider “underachieving” basketball programs.

Moving along.

We have had a ton of excitement this week in the league, and rather than blowing up this spot with info you already know, I want to throw in my two cents on some things.

1. It is truly unfortunate that Amare didn’t get any love this week.  Sitting around all week being told you are rocking the purple and orange for the last time, only to find out you are posting up a while longer.  One might compare it to playing Little League baseball.  Remember being hyped all week for that summer game?  Being gassed up all day with that beautiful summer weather, only to have your little baseball chubby left for nothing when the thunder-storm rolls in around the evening hour.  Okay…maybe it isn’t quite the same.

2. Ty Thom and Salmons leaving= good riddance.  Let’s be honest folks.  Those two were given Alfonso Soriano on the Cubs love, and to no avail.  Tyrus broke his official Bulls balls the moment he guaranteed Dunk Contest victory and was the lowest score.

Tyrus Thomas dunks for money.

Salmons has been as consistent from the floor as a drunk guy pissing in a toilet seat at the bar.

3. How does it feel watching some of our favorite NBA stars shopping around like it is going out of style?  Not only does it make me feel old to think that T-Mac and Jamison are considered seasoned vets and “roll players” but we are witnessing an era in the NBA now that will see nobody holding down a city for their entire career.  I could name two guys right now that I predict will forever wear the same uniform. A. Tim Ducan. B. Dirk Nowitzki.  That is it.

4. After many arguments with friends, I am still flying high on my “The Cavs really missed out on Troy Murphy” sweepstakes.  Say what you will, but the guy is a force and one of the most consistent players in the league.  He is 6’11, can knock down the three, rebounds like a beast and shoots an outstanding percentage from the floor.  If you make other centers guard him in the playoffs, good luck.

5. Kevin Martin to Houston.  I’ve said to before and I’ll say it again.  I cannot support any shooter in the league that I can’t shoot with on NBA Live or 2K.  Case closed K-Mart and Ben Gordon.

6. For those of you that tuned into Dallas and Phoenix the other night, you caught a classic scuffle with Dirk and Grant Hill.  Mark Jackson said it best, as I paraphrase, “This isn’t exactly the Klitschko’s going at each other”.  Two sleeper fighters.  Dirk uses his wooden dentures to bite Grant.  Hill uses his piano fingers to poke Nowitzki in the eye.  If you don’t see it playing out like that…well picture something MORE realistic.

7. Lebron cries and doesn’t shake hands after a classic battle with Melo.  Get a life LBJ.  You are an ambassador to the game.  We all watched.  We get it.  No one tries harder than you game in and game out, so man up.  Take the loss in the chin and get back at it.  In case you forgot, you just rattled of 13 wins in a row and now have Antawn Jamison.  Deal with it.

8. Speaking of Jamison, I recently shared a comment with Casey.  If players choose to spell their names awkwardly, then I am going to pronounce them that way.  So, Antawn and Dwyane Wade…get it together and swap some letters for us.

9.  The Dunk Contest was horrendous.  I don’t necessarily feel that I need LBJ or Dwight in the contest for it to be successful, but if you are going to take some of these young, low-key ballers, then you have to explain to them that this is their moment to shine.  Show some personality.  Get hyped.  Even Nate Rob bored me.  Maybe he is still trying to recover from the kryptonite…regardless, I am going to need some more flair.

10. Food for thought.  I posed this question to a few friends recently, but I’ll drop it out there for others.  Off the top of your head, can you name me one cut up WHITE euro baller?  It’s harder than you think.

Casey and JonJon

5 Responses to “Step back, Flip it and Reverse it”

  1. Daniel Surprenant Says:

    Loved the little baseball comparison to Amare that was good stuff. The Salmons and drunk peeing on a seat was good also. Lebron really did not shake hands after the game last night. How could you not 43 13 15 I mean I like to win too but if I put up those numbers I couldn’t be mad.

  2. Mark Says:

    Cut up Euro baller: though currently not in the Association, Walter Hermann. Arguably the best hair in basketball, and straight juiced.

  3. Mark Says:

    Couldn’t embed the pictures but here are two links:

  4. icetheknees Says:

    Hahaha Walter…solid sleeper noise. I will say that if he ever makes it back, I will let people know that he has never slipped your mind.

    Soup: I appreciate the love. Sometimes the analogies get a little ridiculous, but I think they are humorous from time to time.

  5. Brad Says:

    No Thunder?? Very Disturbing…I thought more of your guys NBA Knowledge.

    1. Youngest Team in NBA.
    2. Hottest Team in NBA.
    3. Funnest Team to watch in the NBA.
    4. In the Hunt for Home Court in the West.
    5. MVP Canidate. Scoring Leader.
    6. The most overlooked PG in the League.
    7. Coach of the year.
    Come on John, lets be real!

Leave a Reply

